End of summer

September disappeared and I’m not quite sure where it went. We have had a beautiful Indian summer with balmy days, blue skies and clear nights. 
                                   
When I asked Jeff what exactly I did in September, he silently pointed to the freezer. Oh yeah… we two Nanaimo bears are ready for a long winters nap.
 

I canned 25 pounds of tomatoes, 20 pounds of peaches and pears, 10 pounds of pickles and 10 jars of apple sauce then froze 25 pounds of roasted tomatoes, 15 pounds of green beans, 10 pounds of nectarines, 25 pounds of bell peppers,10 bags each of blackberries and raspberries- so along with our stash of salmon, we’re in good stead. Thank goodness for generous in-laws with a very large freezer! My eyes were certainly bigger than my freezer space.

I never thought I would become a woman who wears an apron much more frequently than lip gloss and who feels genuine joy at full pantry shelves. This whole experience is teaching me that I do need to find a more simple way of living. I think that’s a good thing.
 
 

 

One thought on “End of summer

Leave a Reply

