Opposite of celebration

My last post, written on June 30, was written in celebration. It’s amazing how quickly life can take us from celebration to its exact opposite.

June 30 was my parent’s 44th wedding anniversary.  After a long day at work, my parents went out for dinner to celebrate their anniversary then returned home to tackle some work around the yard.  My Dad rototilled his beloved garden, walked to the front drive and collapsed with a massive heart attack. Thankfully, a B&B guest was right there to administer CPR, and more help arrived quickly. The right chain of events in the right time frame got my Dad from the small, rural town where my parents live to University Hospital in Saskatoon, alive. 
I realize now that June 30 was the night that he was very nearly, no longer with us. Being far away, such harsh realities are easy to downplay but this does not make them any less true. All I can say is that we are very, very thankful. A little shaken and in shock, but very, very thankful.

The next step will be triple bypass surgery (if the surgeons find what they think they will find) on Wednesday, July 6. I am flying to Saskatoon on Monday to be my parents for the next few weeks.   If you could hold my immediate family- my Dad and Mom, Lyndon and Jennifer, and Jeff and I-  very tight in your thoughts and prayers, we would appreciate it very much. I will return here to post updates as they are available.

I am amazed that during times of crisis and loss, we humans immediately throw away all of the “stuff” we work so hard to accumulate and cling to what matters- the people we love. I say ‘amazed’ because one really would think by now, we would have learned this lesson and not need tragedies to shock us back into seeing what is most important. Today as I celebrate my 37th birthday, gifts really do seem so very unimportant. All I really want is for my Dad to be all right. 
My first beauty parlour customer ~age 2, 1976
2 thoughts on “Opposite of celebration

  1. Glad we had the chance to connect yesterday. Sending lots of love and well wishes to the entire family, and we will, of course, keep you all in our prayers this week.

Leave a Reply

