Saying thanks

In the last update on my dad’s health following his surgery, I mentioned how my parents gave permission to use my dad’s medical case for training in the First Responder program; this ultimately resulted in their town receiving the donation of another AED (Automated External Defibrillator).

For those of you who know my parents, you won’t be surprised at all to hear that they helped turn the donation of this AED into a community-wide recognition of the volunteer First Responder program (in addition to the individuals that responded to my mom’s 911 call).  The event not only made the provincial news (click here and forward to the 5:40 mark) but more importantly, recruited 11 new volunteers (at last count) to the First Responder program in Waldheim where my parents live. The Saskatoon Health Authority released a 25 minute video of the evening’s presentation- this includes a synopsis of the emergency response (2:15), remarks by my parents (12:12), words from the  First Responders who attended my dad (6:15) and a presentation of the new AED (19:50).   As you can imagine, this brings an amazing finale to the story of my dad’s heart attack. For our family, it really is an unexpected and incredible gift.

One thought on “Saying thanks

Leave a Reply

