Salmon #1: Maple Salmon

While the first recipe of my 2011-12 Salmon Challenge is one I have made for a few years, it is sentimental for us and therefore had to be number one. The first time I ever cooked for Jeff when we were dating, I made this …. and the rest is history.  It’s also so simple, quick, and delicious that it remains one of our favourites.

Maple Salmon
adapted from All Recipes
serves ~3

1/4 cup maple syrup
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
1 pound salmon fillet
salt & black pepper

In glass measure or small bowl, combine maple syrup, soy sauce and garlic.   Grease a small glass baking dish, place the fish in it and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Drizzle maple soy mixture over the salmon; cover and refrigerate for 15 to 30 minutes. Do not marinate the fish for longer than 30 minutes as the flesh will begin to break down. During the last few minutes of marinating, heat oven to 400 degrees. Uncover the fish and bake for 10 to 15 minutes or until the fish flakes with a fork.

I usually serve this with brown rice or roasted potatoes and fresh green vegetable. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Salmon #1: Maple Salmon

  1. Yes- it feels like a classic to me, too. Every time I make it, I am surprised how easy and good it is. So glad that one of my recipes has morphed into one of your favourites! Your taco soup is legendary in our house and another recipe I make all the time.

Leave a Reply

