Harvest

My wonderful in-laws came to help with some fall garden clean-up yesterday afternoon. While trimming several feet off our prolific butterfly bushes, my mum-in-law asked if I had noticed our crop of kiwis. Truthfully, I had noticed them several weeks ago… then promptly forgot. Because they grow under large leaves, these little beauties are easily forgotten. The whole concept of kiwis growing in my garden seems a little surreal. I have to actually pinch myself that I live in a climate warm enough to grow tropical fruit.

Kiwis ripen off the vine and there is a small window of optimum ripeness before they turn mealy and mushy. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them- stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

