Other kinds of recipes

I mentioned several weeks ago that I use a lot of home made cleaning products. Yesterday, I mixed up fresh batches of my favourite cleaning solutions and began tackling the fine layer of dust that has settled in my house (Jeff has been too busy studying for his Professional Engineering certification exams next month and getting me through the end of my thesis to worry about such things). Cleaning is satisfying work, especially because results are immediate.  Here are my three favourite “recipes”: 


Wood Floor Cleaner 
1 gallon hot water
1/2 cup vinegar
5 drops tea tree oil
Mix the ingredients together, dip in your mop (we use something like this) and squeeze until almost dry. Mop as usual. On our wood and laminate floors, this solution dries streak free.


Tub, Tile and Shower Door Cleaner 
1 part water
2 parts vinegar
I mix this in a small spray bottle and keep it right in the shower. While the bathroom does smell like a dill pickle while you’re cleaning, vinegar dries odourless and the scent quickly disappears. It works particularly well on acrylic tubs that are very susceptible to scratches from abrasive cleaners.


All-Purpose Counter and Surface Spray
from Gorgeously Green
32-ounce opaque plastic spray bottle
2 cups water
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1 teaspoon pure castile soap (I use Dr. Bonner’s Peppermint. It’s readily available at any health food shop)
3/4 cup hydrogen peroxide
20 drops tea tree oil 
20 drops of lavender or lemongrass essential oil
Fill a large 32-ounce plastic spray bottle with the water. Add the vinegar, castile soap, hydrogen peroxide, and oils. Shake well. Use as you would any surface cleaning spray- I use it in my kitchen.
Leave a Reply

