Graduation Part I

The ten days surrounding graduation were a bustle of activity, out-of-province company and little down time. As such, I took a wee blogging break last night- I think both Jeff and I needed a few days of quiet. I promised more photos from graduation, so here they are. Note: photos here are courtesy of my dad, cousin D, or the official (and shockingly overpriced) Royal Roads photographer.

Graduation is s actually a pretty boring event.  Your name is read, you walk across the stage to share Chancellor Calhoun’s hand, you get a scroll (with a congratulatory letter as diplomas had been sent out via mail the week before) and you go back to your seat. All while wearing an ugly polyester gown. That hat was even the exact same cardboard monstrosity that I had at my high school graduation (which finally hit the garbage last fall)… somehow, I thought a master’s degree would get warrant me a hat made of something more than cardboard! I guess it’s good to mark these accomplishments in life, but the ceremony really is a little absurd. 

The convocation ceremony is still online- just click here. You might also want to fast forward until my name is called at 1:41:13!  

proud Mama
proud cousin 
and very relieved spouse (still getting used to having his wife back)
2 thoughts on “Graduation Part I

  1. LUCKY?? I'm not sure that cardboard perched on one's head (which ruins one's carefully blown out and straightened special-day hairdo and creates terrible hat head) is so lucky…

    Now, have you seen PhD hats? They are cool. It's just A LOT of work to do for a cool hat…!

Leave a Reply

