Passion Music: Bach Chorale

My favourite Bach chorale is “Wer Hat Dich So Geschlagen” from the St. John Passion. The text (translated below) paired with the music and sung by the Mondeverdi Choir – exquisite.

Who has struck you thus,
my Savior, and with torments
so evilly used You?
You are not at all a sinner
like us and our children,
You know nothing of transgressions.
I, I and my sins,
that can be found like the grains
of sand by the sea,
these have brought You
this misery that assails You,
Leave a Reply

