Coconut Eggs

I’m experimenting with less wheat in our diet these days. For the most part, it’s going well… except breakfast. Eggs are the one thing I’m not crazy about and that leaves me with yogurt, fruit and toasted almonds every morning. In an effort to find some variety, I’ve been on the hunt for new breakfast options. While browsing through my friend’s Make It Paleo cookbook, I came across a recipe for breakfast that was so unusual I had to try it. The verdict? I loved it. Jeff didn’t. If you like coconut, it might be worth a try.

Coconut Eggs
From the Make It Paleo cookbook

2 eggs
1/4 cup of coconut

Preheat oven to 350°F.Separate egg whites and yolks, placing yolks in an individual small mixing bowls. Beat egg whites until they are very stiff. Fold in the shredded coconut. Shape the egg whites into nests on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Gently spoon the yolks into the center of the nests. Bake for 10 minutes, until the nests set, the yolks are cooked through and the peaks begin to lightly brown. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Coconut Eggs

  1. very interesting!! I might have to try it. I take it you would not used sweetened coconut.:) ~Dessert eggs~

    C

Leave a Reply

