Sing A New Song

    For the first 20 years of my life, J.S. Bach was not my friend. I had to get away from the piano to fully appreciate Bach’s music- I don’t know why but it fits so much better in my voice than under my fingers. As a chamber choir singer, I was introduced to the Bach motets and it was unexpected love at first sight-singing. I have been lucky to learn and perform six of the seven Bach motets and each one has deepened my appreciation of his compositions. Back in May, I posted what I said was my favourite, “Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf“. I think it might actually be tied for my favourite with  ‘Singet dem Herrn’, a setting of Psalm 149:1-3 and Psalm 150:2,6. This motet is vibrant, colourful, alive, and so much fun to sing. The Vocalconsort Berlin does an impeccable job- translation can be read here. 

Leave a Reply

