Balsamic Strawberries and Goat Cheese

Sweet Almond and Rosemary Goat Cheese Spread is one of my go-to appetizer recipes during the colder months. I think there’s a warmth I associate with the flavour of cinnamon that makes me use it only during months that end in “ber” or “ary” and I usually forget about this recipe over the summer. Until this year. We had a particularly hot summer and for most of June and July, I did everything I could not to turn on my oven. Dinner for us was usually some sort of salad or grilled veggies with grilled meat or fish.  One weekend, I found myself with a bit of goat cheese, a baguette, some strawberries and decided to create a summery version of our favourite appetizer spread. We had this for dinner with some salad greens and a leftover grilled sausage and it was delicious.

Summery Goat Cheese Spread with Balsamic Stawberries
Adapted from All Recipes and yours truly
yield: ~1 cup of spread

6-8 large strawberries
balsamic vinegar
4 ounces fresh goat cheese
1 tablespoon almonds, toasted and finely chopped
2 teaspoons honey
finely grated peel of 1/4 of a lemon
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley or basil

Slice strawberries, toss with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar (~ 1 teaspoon) and set aside. Crumble the goat cheese into a small mixing bowl. Mix in almonds, honey, lemon peel, cinnamon and parsley or basil, saving a little of the herb to garnish. Mix well and spread on bread. Top with balsamic strawberries and a sprinkle of reserved parsley or basil.

Leave a Reply

