Verleih uns Frieden

Sunday  Almost four years ago, I accompanied a small choir who sang Felix Mendelssohn’s “Verleih uns Frieden” at the wedding of my dear friend, P. I still can’t listen to the third verse without tearing up- that’s the verse she walked down the aisle to. It’s a wonderful piece I didn’t know before her wedding and whenever I hear it, I will be brought to that beautiful sunny autumn afternoon.

In these our days so perilous, Lord, peace in mercy send us; 
No God but thee can fight for us, No God but thee defend us; 
Thou our only God and Saviour.

Leave a Reply

